News Releases

« Go Back

Griffin Applauds Governor Asa Hutchinson’s Innovation Council

February 19, 2019

LITTLE ROCK – Lt. Governor Tim Griffin today issued the following statement praising the Arkansas Innovation Council: 

“I applaud Governor Asa Hutchinson for his efforts to make Arkansas a leader in technology and innovation by creating the Arkansas Innovation Council. Arkansas already leads the way in computer coding education and is prioritizing Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) education. The council includes some of Arkansas’s top innovation leaders who will work to develop pro-growth policies so we can grow jobs and compete globally.”

About Arkansas Innovation Council

Governor Asa Hutchinson appointed key leaders from Arkansas businesses, research universities, philanthropic organizations, and state agencies to form the Arkansas Innovation Council. The founding members of the Arkansas Innovation Council are:

Dr. Donald R. Bobbitt, President, University of Arkansas System

Albert Braunfisch, Chairman, MSpark

Amy Callahan, Cofounder, Collective Bias

Ross DeVol, Walton Fellow, Walton Family Foundation

William T. Dillard, III, Executive Vice President, Dillard’s Inc.

George Dunklin, Jr., Dunklin Farms

Richard Howe, CEO, Inuvo

Doug McMillon, President and Chief Executive Officer, Walmart Inc.

Judy McReynolds, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, ArcBest Corporation

Jeffery W. Nolan, President and Chief Executive Officer, Loutre Land and Timber Company

Dr. Cam Patterson, Chancellor, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Mike Preston, Executive Director, Arkansas Economic Development Commission

John Rutledge, President, First Security Bank, Little Rock

Cheryl Schluterman, Interim President, Arkansas Development Finance Authority

Josh Smith, Chief Executive Officer, Metova, Inc.

Warren Stephens, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Stephens, Inc.

Dr. Chuck Welch, President, Arkansas State University System

Troy Wells, President and CEO, Baptist Health

Noel White, President and CEO, Tyson Foods Inc.

About Lieutenant Governor Tim Griffin

Lieutenant Governor Tim Griffin was elected on November 4, 2014. From 2011-2015, Griffin served as the 24th representative of Arkansas’s Second Congressional District. For the 113th Congress, he was a member of the House Committee on Ways and Means while also serving as a Deputy Whip for the Majority. In the 112th Congress, he served as a member of the House Armed Services Committee, the House Committee on Foreign Affairs and the House Committee on the Judiciary.

Griffin is a graduate of Magnolia High School, Hendrix College in Conway and Tulane Law School in New Orleans, and attended graduate school at Oxford University. He has served in the U.S. Army Reserve for 20 years, was deployed to Iraq with the 101st Airborne Division (Air Assault) and holds the rank of Lieutenant Colonel. Lieutenant Colonel Griffin is currently pursuing a master’s degree in strategic studies from the U.S. Army War College, Carlisle Barracks, Pennsylvania. He also served as U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of Arkansas and Special Assistant to the President and Deputy Director of Political Affairs for President George W. Bush. Griffin lives in Little Rock with his wife Elizabeth, a Camden native, and their three children.


News Archives